• Follow us!
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

  Thursday, April 2nd   

Home News Local News

Hardware Handed Out To Local Businesses

Don Ferguson for local2 sault ste. marie
October 19th, 2012 at 10:00am


On Thursday, October 18th, local business representatives gathered at the 123rd Sault Ste. Marie Chamber of Commerce Annual General Meeting and Business Awards Dinner. The event was sponsored by Bell and was a celebration of local business excellence and the entrepreneurial spirit. The business awards portion of the event put the spotlight on 13 local Chamber-member entrepreneurs, businesses and community leaders and featured a dynamic video awards component.

Awards presented at this year’s event included:

· Dr. Kent Floreani and Francine Floreani were jointly presented with the SKIPPER MANZZUTTI AWARD FOR BUSINESS ACHIEVMENT. Named after one of the Chamber’s dedicated past presidents - Captain Feliciano “Skipper” Manzzutti, this award recognizes a business person who has, either within the past year or period of years, demonstrated exemplary qualities of an entrepreneur and community-minded citizen.

· Penny Perrier received the Chamber’s VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR AWARD. Initiated in 1985, the Volunteer of the Year Award was designed to recognize an individual whose time, commitment and contribution to the Chamber over the years, or during the past year, has been outstanding.

· Jim McAuley was awarded the PAUL DALSEG AWARD. The Paul Dalseg Award recognizes a businessperson or professional in Sault Ste. Marie who has demonstrated exemplary interest in the community, and in so doing, has made a major, outstanding and unique achievement or contribution to the life of the community. It is intended to recognize the leadership and community-mindedness of businesspersons and professionals.

· Ted Brooks was presented with the Chamber’s PRESIDENT’S AWARD. Initiated in 1982, the President’s Award recognizes someone who makes an exceptional effort, going above and beyond the call of duty, in any area of business and community development. Selected by the Chamber Past President, this award is not necessarily given annually.

· Dr Kent Floreani of Floreani O’Toole Orthodontists was presented with the ENTREPRENEUR / BUSINESS OF THE YEAR AWARD sponsored by Palmer Construction Group Inc. and given in memory of the late Mike Rainone. This award recognizes an entrepreneur or business that successfully demonstrates a progressive attitude toward employee relations, a positive public image, a reputation for excellence in customer service and their contribution to the community.

· Porter Airlines was presented with the BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT AWARD sponsored by the Business Development Bank of Canada. The Business Development Award is presented to a business that demonstrates a positive initiative for job creation and growth within the community.

· The Canadian Bushplane Heritage Centre was presented with the MARKETING AWARD sponsored by Algoma Office Equipment. The Marketing Award recognizes a business or agency that demonstrates a superior and novel marketing strategy to attract new business and retain repeat business through the creative use of limited resources.

· Jeannette’s Custom Cakes was presented with the Young Entrepreneur / Business of the Year Award, sponsored by Eazy Express Inc. The Young Entrepreneur / Business of the Year Award is presented to a young entrepreneur (aged 18- 39) that demonstrates an innovative / creative approach to creating, marketing and promoting his / her business in addition to maintaining a positive public image and contributing to community activities. The Young Entrepreneur / Business of the Year Award was awarded for the first time at this year’s event and Jeannette’s Custom Cakes is the first recipient of this award.

· WINMAR Sault Ste. Marie was presented with the CUSTOMER SERVICE AWARD sponsored by the Community Development Corporation of Sault Ste. Marie and Area. The Customer Service Award goes out to a business that raises customer service to new standards of excellence and is a model for other businesses in the community to follow.

· Walmart was presented with the ENVIRONMENT AWARD sponsored by the Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation. The Environment Award honours businesses or agencies that have made a difference in making our environment better, whether it be through reduction of pollution or waste, energy efficiency, new environmental or energy technology applications, best practices, or introducing an innovative program that reduces waste in our city.

· TopLine Electric and Plumbing was presented with the Safe Work, Sound Business Award sponsored by Sault Ste. Marie Safe Communities Partnership. The Safe Work, Sound Business Award recognizes a business that uses a safe work management system, participates in workplace and / or community injury prevention programs and has exceptionally good injury frequency and injury severity performance.

· The Sault Community Career Centre was presented with the DIVERSITY AWARD sponsored by Community Living Algoma. The Diversity Award recognizes a business or organization that embraces, celebrates and applies holistic inclusion and participation of a diverse people making the workplace a better environment in which to work, and the community a better place in which to live, work and raise a family.

· Donna Hilsinger was presented with the ATHENA AWARDÒ sponsored by Sault College. The ATHENA AwardÒ is an internationally recognized award, presented to an individual who is recognized for their professional excellence, for providing valuable service to their community and for actively assisting women in attainment of their professional goals and leadership skills.

The Sault Ste. Marie Chamber of Commerce is the recognized voice of business in Sault Ste. Marie.


About LOCAL2    Contact Us    Advertise on LOCAL2
local2 sault ste. marie LOCAL2 on FacebookFollow LOCAL2 on Twitter • 705.251.NEWS • ssm@local2.ca • ©2015 local2 sault ste. marie • Privacy PolicyTerms of Use